The Phoenix Critics Circle proudly announces nominees for its annual awards. Members have narrowed the films from 2016 to the top nominees in each category.

“The Shape of Water” leads with 7 nominations, followed by “Lady Bird” with six and “Get Out” with five.

Voting is underway for the winners and they will be announced on Saturday, December 16th, 2016.

Best Picture

  • Dunkirk
  • The Florida Project
  • Lady Bird
  • The Shape of Water
  • Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Comedy Film

  • The Big Sick
  • The Disaster Artist
  • I, Tonya
  • Lady Bird
  • Logan Lucky

Best Science Fiction Film

  • Blade Runner, 2049
  • Okja
  • The Shape of Water
  • War for the Planet of the Apes

 Best Horror Film

  • Get Out
  • Hounds of Love
  • It
  • It Comes at Night
  • Raw

Best Mystery or Thriller Film

  • The Beguiled
  • Get Out
  • The Killing of a Sacred Deer
  • mother!
  • Murder on the Orient Express
  • The Post
  • Split
  • Wind River

Best Animated Film

  • The Breadwinner
  • Cars 3
  • Coco
  • The Lego Batman Movie
  • Loving Vincent

Best Foreign Language Film

  • BPM (Beats per Minute)
  • In the Fade
  • Raw
  • The Square
  • Thelma

Best Documentary

  • City of Ghosts
  • Jane
  • Step
  • Whose Streets

Best Actor

  • Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name
  • Daniel Day-Lewis, Phantom Thread
  • James Franco, The Disaster Artist
  • Daniel Kaluuya, Get Out
  • Gary Oldman, Darkest Hour
  • Harry Dean Stanton, Lucky

Best Actress

  • Jessica Chastain, Molly’s Game
  • Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water
  • Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
  • Margot Robbie, I, Tonya
  • Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird

Best Supporting Actor

  • Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project
  • Armie Hammer, Call Me By Your Name
  • Richard Jenkins, The Shape of Water
  • Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
  • Michael Stuhlbarg, Call Me by Your Name

Best Supporting Actress

  • Mary J. Blige, Mudbound
  • Holly Hunter, The Big Sick
  • Allison Janney, I Tonya
  • Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird
  • Octavia Spencer, The Shape of Water

Best Director

  • Sean Baker, The Florida Project
  • Guillermo del Toro, The Shape of Water
  • Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird
  • Christopher Nolan, Dunkirk
  • Jordan Peele, Get Out
  • Edgar Wright, Baby Driver

Best Screenplay

  • Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird
  • Liz Hannah and Josh Singer, The Post
  • Martin McDonagh, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
  • Jordan Peele, Get Out
  • Aaron Sorkin, Molly’s Game

Best Score

  • Alexandre Desplat, The Shape of Water
  • Jonny Greenwood, Phantom Thread
  • Benjamin Wallfisch and Hans Zimmer, Blade Runner 2049
  • Hans Zimmer, Dunkirk

The Phoenix Critics Circle is established as an association for professional film critique and analysis. Administered by the non-profit Phoenix Film Foundation, the Phoenix Critics Circle is committed to the progression and preservation of film and is composed of print, television, radio and internet film critics from Arizona.

For questions, contact Phoenix Film Foundation Executive Director, Jason Carney at or 602-955-6444