On December 13th, 2019, the Phoenix Critics Circle gathered to announce their winners. “Parasite” picked up the award for Best Picture along with three other awards.

The complete list of winners and nominations is listed below:

Best Picture Winner – Parasite

Other Nominees:

  • 1917
  • The Irishman
  • Jojo Rabbit
  • Marriage Story
  • Portrait Of A Lady On Fire

Best Director Winner – Bong Joon-Ho, Parasite

Other Nominees:

  • Sam Mendes, 1917
  • Martin Scorsese, The Irishman
  • Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood
  • Taika Waititi – Jojo Rabbit

Best Actor Winner – Adam Driver, Marriage Story

Other Nominees:

  • Robert Deniro, The Irishman
  • Leonardo Dicaprio, Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood
  • Eddie Murphy, Dolemite Is My Name
  • Joaquin Phoenix, Joker

Best Actress Winner – Bong Joon-Ho, Parasite

Other Nominees:

  • Awkwafina, The Farewell
  • Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story
  • Saoirse Ronan, Little Women
  • Rene Zellweger, Judy

Best Supporting Actor Winner – Song Kang-Ho, Parasite

Other Nominees:

  • Willem Dafoe, The Lighthouse
  • Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day In The Neighborhood
  • Joe Pesci, The Irishman
  • Brad Pitt, Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood

Best Supporting Actress Winner – Thomasin Mckenzie, Jojo Rabbit

Other Nominees:

  • Jennifer Lopez, Hustlers
  • Laura Dern, Marriage Story
  • Annette Bening, The Report
  • Zhao Shuzhen, The Farewell
  • Margot Robbie, Bombshell

 Best Screenplay Winner – Rian Johnson, Knives Out

Other Nominees:

  • Noah Baumbach, Marriage Story
  • Bong Joon-Ho And Han Jin-Won, Parasite
  • Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood
  • Taika Waititi, Jojo Rabbit

Best Score Winner – Hildur Guðnadóttir, Joker

Other Nominees:

  • Michael Abels, Us
  • Alexandre Desplat, Little Women
  • Thomas Newman, 1917

Best Comedy Film Winner – Jojo Rabbit

Other Nominees:

  • Booksmart
  • Dolemite Is My Name
  • Knives Out
  • Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood

Best Science Fiction Film Winner – Ad Astra

Other Nominees:

  • Alita: Battle Angel
  • Avengers: End Game
  • Captain Marvel
  • High Life
  • Terminator: Dark Fate

Best Horror Film Winner – Us

Other Nominees:

  • Doctor Sleep
  • The Lighthouse
  • Midsommar
  • Tigers Are Not Afraid

Best Animated Film Winner – Toy Story 4

Other Nominees:

  • Frozen 2
  • How To Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
  • I Lost My Body
  • Missing Link

Best Foreign Language Film Winner – Parasite

Other Nominees:

  • Atlantics
  • The Farewell
  • Monos
  • Portrait Of A Lady On Fire

Best Documentary Winner – Apollo 11

Other Nominees:

  • American Factory
  • Hail Satan?
  • Honeyland
  • One Child Nation

Best Cinematography Winner – Roger Deakins, 1917

Other Nominees:

  • Jarin Blaschke, The Lighthouse
  • Kyung-Pyo Hong, Parasite
  • Claire Mathon, Portrait Of A Lady On Fire
  • Rodrigo Prieto, The Irishman
  • Robert Richardson, Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood
  • Jörg Widmer, A Hidden Life

Special Achievements:

Ensemble Acting – The cast of Knives Out

Lifetime Achievement in Editing – Thelma Schoonmaker

(Editor of all of Martin Scorsese’s films since Raging Bull)

The Phoenix Critics Circle is established as an association for professional film critique and analysis. Administered by the non-profit Phoenix Film Foundation, the Phoenix Critics Circle is committed to the progression and preservation of film and is composed of print, television, radio and internet film critics from Arizona.

For questions, contact Phoenix Film Foundation Executive Director, Jason Carney at Jason@phxfilm.com or 480-513-3195.